Request a proposal 574-343-2150

Buying & funding › Funding & grants › JAG and homeland security

Talk to us before you apply · JAG and homeland security

JAG and homeland security: equipment language for transport and command

Justice and homeland security money reaches a transport van or a command vehicle two ways: federal rounds on Grants.gov, and the state's share of federal formula money, each state on its own calendar.

What it is

  • JAG Local Formula (DOJ Bureau of Justice Assistance): equipment named as an allowed cost in the listing. This year’s local round closed Oct 9, 2026. State JAG shares run on their own calendars.
  • Rural Violent Crime Reduction Initiative (DOJ BJA): vehicles named as an allowed cost in the listing. Due Oct 30, 2026.
  • Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation (DOJ): due Oct 15, 2026. The listing does not say whether vehicles are allowed; check the NOFO.
  • Homeland security: state pass-through of federal money, used for command vehicles, usually on a spring cycle.

How the money flows

JAG is a large pass-through award to states; the vehicle buyer is a county or agency further down the chain. State pass-through money (the JAG state share, homeland security) runs 50 states times a few programs, mostly on yearly cycles. Ask your state administering agency for its calendar.

Equipment language

Where a listing names “equipment” rather than “vehicles,” the unit goes in the equipment line. Describe it as the equipment it is: a unit built to a published plan, with the spec paragraphs (body construction, electrical, HVAC, ADA, FMVSS, Buy America) a purchasing office can bid against.

Every HLE body is FMVSS compliant, and built to ADA (49 CFR Part 38), FTA Altoona (49 CFR Part 665) and agency specifications when a purchase requires them, with documentation supplied for the bid file.

What reviewers look for

  • The listing’s own words. If it names vehicles, say vehicle; if it names equipment, put the unit in the equipment line.
  • A spec and budget that match: the plan sheet, the spec paragraphs and an itemized range, including the security package or communications equipment you furnish.

Common mistakes

  • Missing the state calendar. The state’s JAG and homeland security rounds do not post on Grants.gov.
  • Assuming a tribal round allows vehicles before reading the NOFO.
  • The three mistakes every family shares: over-specifying, under-budgeting delivery, and missing the equipment line.

From HLE's Oct 7, 2026 review of Grants.gov and the state program pages. Where a source said "check the NOFO" or "not verified," this page says so too. HLE does not determine eligibility or write applications. We supply the vehicle and the documents about it.

In the tracker

JAG and homeland security rounds we track

ProgramWhat it fundsOpensClosesAward expectedStatus
Rural Violent Crime Reduction Initiative
Federal
Vehicles named as an allowed cost in the listing. Two steps: SF-424 in Grants.gov by Oct 30, full application in JustGrants by Nov 6, 2026.
Law enforcement and corrections
Pays for: Mobile command, prisoner transport
Sep 21, 2026Oct 30, 2026Not stated; projects start Jan 1, 2027Due in 3 days
Vehicle: Yes
JAG Local Formula
Federal, to local agencies
Equipment named as an allowed cost. State JAG shares run on their own calendars.
Law enforcement and corrections
Pays for: Mobile command, prisoner transport
Aug 25, 2026Oct 9, 2026Not statedClosed
Vehicle: Case by case
Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation
Federal, tribal
Check the NOFO for vehicle cost allowance.
Law enforcement and corrections
Pays for: Tribal command, transport
Jul 24, 2026Oct 15, 2026Not statedClosed
Vehicle: Not stated

Verified Oct 7, 2026. The full tracker →

Request a proposal

Tell us the program. We tell you what to attach.

Pick a plan or describe the program. Say whether you need a price, a bid package, a grant kit or a formal proposal. A person at HLE reads every request; nothing goes to a queue.

Get a kit or a tailored proposal

Or call 574-343-2150, 7:30 to 4:30 Eastern, and ask for Tabatha.