Buying & funding › Funding & grants › USDA Community Facilities
Talk to us before you apply · USDA Community Facilities
USDA Community Facilities: open all year, and vehicles qualify
USDA Community Facilities is one program, open all year, run through state Rural Development offices. It pays grants of 15 to 75% of cost, by population and income, plus low-rate loans, and vehicles are an eligible purchase.
What it is
- Rolling applications, Oct 1 – Sep 30, through your state Rural Development office. There is no deadline to chase.
- Rural areas up to 20,000 people.
- Grants cover 15 to 75% of cost, depending on population and income, plus low-rate loans for the balance.
Who can apply
Public bodies, nonprofits and tribes in rural areas of up to 20,000 population.
Whether a vehicle qualifies
Yes: vehicles are an eligible community facility purchase, including bookmobiles, mobile clinics and public safety vehicles. It fits every type HLE builds for the public sector: medical, bookmobile, sheriff, outreach.
How the money flows
You apply to the state Rural Development office; USDA funds the purchase directly as a grant, a loan or both. Because the program is always open, it is the easiest source to plan around.
Where it fits
Community Facilities often covers the rest of a unit that RHTP won’t. The pitch that works: “RHTP or an HRSA grant covers the program; USDA Community Facilities or settlement money covers the vehicle.” See RHTP and HRSA.
What to bring to the Rural Development office
- The service area and its population, against the 20,000 line.
- The floor plan sheet and the spec paragraphs for the unit.
- A budget range with the equipment itemized and delivery on its own line. The proposal kits hold all three.
Common mistakes
- Waiting for a deadline. The program is open all year.
- A service area over the 20,000 population line.
- The three mistakes every family shares: over-specifying, under-budgeting delivery, and missing the equipment line.
From HLE's Oct 7, 2026 review of Grants.gov and the state program pages. Where a source said "check the NOFO" or "not verified," this page says so too. HLE does not determine eligibility or write applications. We supply the vehicle and the documents about it.
In the tracker
USDA Community Facilities rounds we track
| Program | What it funds | Opens | Closes | Award expected | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USDA Community Facilities Direct Loan and Grant Federal, via state RD offices Rural areas to 20,000 people; grants cover 15 – 75% of cost by population and income, plus low-rate loans. Applications Oct 1 – Sep 30. | Rural health carePrimary care and community health centersDental and oral healthand 6 more Pays for: Any community-serving unit | Not stated | Rolling | Not stated | Rolling Vehicle: Yes Kit: All kits |
Verified Oct 7, 2026. The full tracker →
Request a proposal
Tell us the program. We tell you what to attach.
Pick a plan or describe the program. Say whether you need a price, a bid package, a grant kit or a formal proposal. A person at HLE reads every request; nothing goes to a queue.
Or call 574-343-2150, 7:30 to 4:30 Eastern, and ask for Tabatha.