Buying & funding › Funding & grants › IMLS and library money
Talk to us before you apply · IMLS and library money
IMLS and state library money: paying for a bookmobile
Library money for a bookmobile comes from three places: IMLS directly, the state library agency that passes federal formula money down, and USDA Community Facilities.
What it is
- IMLS National Leadership Grants for Libraries: open on Oct 7, 2026, due Nov 13, 2026. The listing does not say whether a vehicle is an allowed cost; check the NOFO.
- State library agencies pass federal formula money down to libraries, mostly on yearly cycles.
- USDA Community Facilities names bookmobiles as an eligible purchase, in rural areas of up to 20,000 people. See the USDA guide.
How the money flows
IMLS funds national projects directly. Most library money for a vehicle comes through the state library agency, on its own calendar, or through USDA. Ask your state library agency when its round opens.
Whether a vehicle qualifies
Not stated in the IMLS listing; the notice decides. USDA Community Facilities is the one source here that names bookmobiles in writing.
Common mistakes
- Writing a vehicle into an IMLS application before the NOFO confirms it is allowed.
- Missing the state library agency’s calendar.
- The three mistakes every family shares: over-specifying, under-budgeting delivery, and missing the equipment line.
From HLE's Oct 7, 2026 review of Grants.gov and the state program pages. Where a source said "check the NOFO" or "not verified," this page says so too. HLE does not determine eligibility or write applications. We supply the vehicle and the documents about it.
In the tracker
IMLS and library money rounds we track
| Program | What it funds | Opens | Closes | Award expected | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IMLS National Leadership Grants for Libraries Federal Check the NOFO for vehicle cost allowance. | Libraries and literacy Pays for: Bookmobiles | Sep 1, 2026 | Nov 13, 2026 | Not stated | Open Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Bookmobile |
Verified Oct 7, 2026. The full tracker →
Request a proposal
Tell us the program. We tell you what to attach.
Pick a plan or describe the program. Say whether you need a price, a bid package, a grant kit or a formal proposal. A person at HLE reads every request; nothing goes to a queue.
Or call 574-343-2150, 7:30 to 4:30 Eastern, and ask for Tabatha.