Buying & funding › Funding & grants › HRSA and HHS
Talk to us before you apply · HRSA and HHS
HRSA: prior approval for vehicle purchases, in plain words
HRSA and the other HHS agencies pay for programs: health center operations, rural networks, overdose response, screening. Most HHS programs restrict vehicle purchases or require prior approval, and the listing on Grants.gov does not settle it. The full funding notice does.
What it is
The HHS programs on Grants.gov on Oct 7, 2026 that could plausibly pay for a mobile unit:
- Health Center Service Area Competition (HRSA): five cycles, Oct 19, 2026 – Jan 8, 2027. FQHC operating funds; mobile sites depend on budget rules.
- Rural Health Network Development (HRSA): rural networks, up to $500K. Forecast, due Mar 16, 2027.
- RCORP Overdose Response (HRSA): mobile addiction treatment, up to $300K. Forecast, due Mar 10, 2027.
- Appalachian Region Healthcare Support (HRSA): one award, up to $2.5M. Forecast, due Mar 27, 2027.
- RCORP Community Systems Development (HRSA), IHS Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment and Aftercare, CDC Cancer Prevention and Control (mobile screening and mammography) and CDC Preventing Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use (harm-reduction vans): forecast for 2027.
HUD’s CDBG for Indian Tribes is grouped here in the tracker because it pays for the same mobile clinics.
How the money flows
Some awards go straight to the applicant: an FQHC, a rural network. Others are large pass-through awards to states and tribes (CDC cancer screening is one), and the vehicle buyer is a county or clinic further down the chain. Know which one you are applying to before you put a vehicle in the budget.
Prior approval, in plain words
A vehicle is not an allowed cost just because the program is. Most HHS programs restrict vehicle purchases or require prior approval: the notice says whether you can buy one at all, and if you can, whether the agency has to approve the purchase first.
Every HHS round in our tracker reads “Check the NOFO” for that reason. The listing does not name vehicles; the notice decides.
What to put in front of the program officer
- Ask before you budget the vehicle. One question: is a mobile unit an allowed cost in this program, and does it need approval first?
- Show the vehicle as the means of delivering the funded services, with the plan sheet and an itemized budget range attached.
- Keep the vehicle and the program costs on separate lines, so a reviewer can approve one without rewriting the other.
Stacking sources
The pitch that works: “RHTP or an HRSA grant covers the program; USDA Community Facilities or settlement money covers the vehicle.” See USDA Community Facilities and opioid settlement funds.
Common mistakes
- Budgeting a vehicle in a program whose notice does not allow one.
- Treating a pass-through award as if you were the direct applicant.
- The three mistakes every family shares: over-specifying, under-budgeting delivery, and missing the equipment line.
From HLE's Oct 7, 2026 review of Grants.gov and the state program pages. Where a source said "check the NOFO" or "not verified," this page says so too. HLE does not determine eligibility or write applications. We supply the vehicle and the documents about it.
In the tracker
HRSA and HHS rounds we track
| Program | What it funds | Opens | Closes | Award expected | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HRSA Health Center Service Area Competition, forecast cycles (HRSA-27-006 to -009) Federal Four forecast cycles: -006 and -007 open Nov 30 and close Dec 30, 2026; -008 and -009 open Dec 9, 2026 and close Jan 8, 2027. Award dates are HRSA estimates. Most HHS programs require prior approval for a vehicle purchase. | Primary care and community health centersDental and oral health Pays for: Mobile medical, dental | Nov 30, 2026 est. | Dec 30, 2026 est. | Jul 1, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Case by case Kit: Mobile medical |
| Cancer Prevention and Control Programs Federal, to states and tribes Pass-through to states and tribes; the vehicle buyer is downstream. Check the NOFO. | Screening, vaccination and public health Pays for: Mobile screening, mammography | Dec 7, 2026 est. | Feb 5, 2027 est. | Jun 1, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile medical |
| HRSA RCORP Overdose Response Federal Up to $300K. Check the NOFO. | Substance use and mental health treatmentRural health care Pays for: Mobile addiction treatment | Jan 11, 2027 est. | Mar 10, 2027 est. | Aug 1, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile medical |
| HRSA Rural Health Network Development Federal Rural networks; up to $500K. Check the NOFO. | Rural health care Pays for: Mobile medical | Jan 14, 2027 est. | Mar 16, 2027 est. | Jun 1, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile medical |
| HRSA Appalachian Region Healthcare Support Federal, Appalachian region A technical-assistance award to one organization, not money a clinic spends on a unit. Listed because its clients are rural clinics and hospitals. | Rural health care Pays for: Technical assistance to rural health organizations (one award) | Jan 26, 2027 est. | Mar 27, 2027 est. | Sep 1, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile medical |
| CDBG for Indian Tribes (2 rounds) Federal, tribal Two Grants.gov forecasts. The first (PIH-2600-DC-0034) estimated an Aug 31, 2026 opening that has passed without a NOFO. The newer forecast (PIH-2600-DC-0023, posted Oct 6, 2026) estimates opening Dec 16, 2026, closing Mar 31, 2027, award Jul 28, 2027. Check the NOFO when it posts. | Primary care and community health centersSocial services and community outreach Pays for: Mobile clinic, outreach | Dec 16, 2026 est. | Mar 31, 2027 est. | Jul 28, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile medical |
| IHS Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment and Aftercare Federal, tribal Check the NOFO. | Substance use and mental health treatment Pays for: Mobile treatment | Feb 1, 2027 est. | Apr 1, 2027 est. | May 1, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile medical |
| HRSA RCORP Community Systems Development Federal Check the NOFO. | Substance use and mental health treatmentRural health care Pays for: Mobile addiction treatment | Feb 5, 2027 est. | Apr 6, 2027 est. | Aug 1, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile medical |
| Preventing Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use Federal Two awards in all. Check the NOFO for whether services can run from a mobile unit. | Substance use and mental health treatmentScreening, vaccination and public health Pays for: Services that prevent infectious disease from drug use, in two components (one is a survey) | Mar 24, 2027 est. | May 24, 2027 est. | Aug 30, 2027 est. | Upcoming Vehicle: Not stated Kit: Mobile outreach |
| HRSA Health Center Service Area Competition (HRSA-27-005) Federal The first of five FY 2027 cycles; the award date is HRSA's estimate. The other four cycles are forecast (see HRSA SAC, forecast cycles). Most HHS programs require prior approval for a vehicle purchase. | Primary care and community health centersDental and oral health Pays for: Mobile medical, dental | Sep 18, 2026 | Oct 19, 2026 | Dec 29, 2026 | Closed Vehicle: Case by case Kit: Mobile medical |
Verified Oct 7, 2026. The full tracker →
Request a proposal
Tell us the program. We tell you what to attach.
Pick a plan or describe the program. Say whether you need a price, a bid package, a grant kit or a formal proposal. A person at HLE reads every request; nothing goes to a queue.
Or call 574-343-2150, 7:30 to 4:30 Eastern, and ask for Tabatha.